What I’ve Been Doing Lately

We’ll it’s been a busy period of late and this the first time I’ve been able sit down and write a blog entry, Christmas has come and gone; and we’ve all welcomed in the new year with the hope that the situation in this country improves for all of us.

Speaking for myself (or perhaps I should say writing for myself), I’ve been busy recruiting since October and I’ve also been making the transition from DBA to manager; which for the moment feels a bit like being in 2 worlds at the same time.

Now that I feel like I’m finally starting to find my feet in this new role, I’m starting to catch up on things that I’ve been keeping on hold, like trying out some of the cool new features in SQL Server 2011 and of course; creating my report scheduling solution, all of which you will see in my blog Open-mouthed smile

One of the nice new features that’s proving very useful to me in Denali is the ability to ‘throw’ errors in the same manner that you can in .Net. It was the one thing that was lacking in SQL Server 2005/2008 BEGIN CATCH blocks, you were not able to pass back the original error to the caller. Thank you Microsoft!

Well, that’s all I’ve got time for folks, keep an eye out for my new blogs about the SQL Server 2011 over the next few days; and the overview of my solution to scheduling reports in SSRS.

About Phil

I'm a database administrator with over 10 years experience working in both administration and development using SQL Server 2000 and onwards. I love Terry Prattchet books, movies, music and; of course, my wife Sol - my inspiration and my shelter. "Although all answers are replies, not all replies are answers."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment